What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice?

Pride and Prejudice is one of Jane Austen’s most popular novels. It became classic English literature, attracting more readers every year. However, Jane Eyre and Little Women are books written in the same literary period. They fit a similar genre and tackle similar themes.

More Information

Many readers struggle with book choice when they are finished with the infamous Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. No doubt, the classical novel tackles a fascinating historical period. It covers such vital themes as love, family, and class. The two books that can be compared to Austen’s work of fiction are Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë and Little Women by Louisa Alcott.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë is also regarded as one of the English classics. The resemblance is apparent. The events of both books happen during the same era, which creates a similar atmosphere. The female characters in the center of the novels are also alike. Jane Eyre and Elizabeth Bennet both struggle with love. They also don’t fit in the social scene with their views on life. Both girls are pretty smart and independent and don’t seek marriage in the first place.

Little Women by Louisa Alcott is more realistic in tone and plot. The book researches the themes of family, class, and gender present in Pride and Prejudice. Both novels narrate a story of women who transition from teenagers to adults. Elizabeth Bennet and Josephine March both come from the middle class. It helps the authors to start social status discussions in their books. Little Women also explores the concepts of sisterhood. Family bonds play a significant role in character development in each of the two novels.

Answer by Academic.tip's expert
An answer to this question is provided by one of our experts who specializes in literature. Let us know how much you liked it and give it a rating.

Cite this page

Select a citation style:

References

Academic.Tips. (2022) 'What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice'. 29 November.

Reference

Academic.Tips. (2022, November 29). What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice? https://academic.tips/question/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/

References

Academic.Tips. 2022. "What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice?" November 29, 2022. https://academic.tips/question/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.

1. Academic.Tips. "What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice?" November 29, 2022. https://academic.tips/question/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.


Bibliography


Academic.Tips. "What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice?" November 29, 2022. https://academic.tips/question/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.

Work Cited

"What Are the Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice?" Academic.Tips, 29 Nov. 2022, academic.tips/question/what-are-the-books-similar-to-pride-and-prejudice/.

Copy